The Simple Things (#121)

A-1Have any of you ever finished a fast food meal, went to throw the paper bag away, noticed it was a little heavy, shook it, and heard a familiar sound? Did you then reach in and find a few delicious, salty, crispy french-fries in the bottom, hidden under a napkin? This happened to me yesterday, and I’m not ashamed to say it brought a smile to my face. I’m not sure if it was because I live an uneventful, boring, and possibly pitiful life; but I’ve always taken great pleasure in the simple things in life. I wrote down a few of them. Maybe you can see yourself in some of these situations.

Most of us have been pulled over by the police at least once in our lives. Pretty unnerving, huh? Have you ever had the cop, come up to your window, ask for your license and registration, and say,

“Do you know why I pulled you over?”

Were you prepared to say something like, “No officer, I have no idea, or yes, I was doing 120 in a 45 mile per hour zone?” Did any of you have anything to hide? You might have had a suspended license, an expired inspection, or had partaken of too many spirits at your local bar or pub. Maybe, like me, you were feeling extremely guilty about the three bodies stuffed inside garbage bags in your trunk, and were about to blurt out a confession. While standing at your door beginning to write a ticket, did the police officer answer his radio, say “darn,” hand you back your paperwork, run back to his police car, take off down the road, and disappear into the distance? Now, that’s one of the simple things!

Have you ever been lost in a bad part of town at two in the morning? Did you notice your gas guage was hovering below empty, your motor was sputtering, and you could hear the sound of gunshots? Did by some incredible miracle, you make it twenty miles on fumes to a well-lighted convenience store by the interstate? Was it as if angels with enormous wings had swooped down, and actually carried your car to safety?

One of the simple things in life, is the feeling I get when someone I haven’t seen in years, says,

“Wow you look fantastic. Did you lose weight? You don’t seem to have aged a day!”

I know what you’re thinking. The person was either being nice, had just gotten out of a mental health institution, or was having trouble with their eyesight. Does it really matter?

I was at a restaurant the other day, and do you know something? I ordered a steak, and it came out exactly the way I love it. You’d be amazed at how few times this ever happens. Usually, when asked how I want it cooked, I say, “medium rare.” Most times I either get a steak that is a black, smoking pile of cinders, or the server leads a living steer to my table by a rope.

Recently, I was coming from an appointment, and realized my parking meter must have expired. I then raced an extremely fit meter-maid a block and a half to my car. After beating her by at least twenty yards, jumping in and peeling out into traffic, I looked in my rear-view mirror. I watched as she threw her book of tickets down, and shook her fist at my departing vehicle. Ahhhhh…… the simple things.

About Patrick Dykie

I'm a simple, middle class family man, living a quiet life in eastern Pennsylvania with my wife and two sons. I love to write and make people laugh. During the day, I'm an account representative, and at night I'm working hard to be a writer. I've faced some things over the past few years that have slowed me down in my dreams, but I have always been an optimist. I also have a love of life, and believe it is a precious gift. I wish you all well on your own journeys.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Simple Things (#121)

  1. colonialist says:

    You have a streak of real cruelty towards officers of the law .. .

Leave a Reply

